Skip to content

Death to Gummy

January 18, 2011

I’d been promising my kid sister for months that I would, one day, make a giant rainbow gummy bear for her sugar-filled delight.  Well, that day finally came.

Things I used:
An empty honey bear container
20 oz. pack of gummy bears (although any gummy shape will do)
Cooking spray
Small, heavy sauce pan (mine has a spout)
Stove

The first thing I did was gather my supplies and sort my gummies by color. I had a classic 5 color assortment: red, orange, yellow, white and green. I decided to nix the white and focus on creating a rainbow gummy. Good thing I did—the white gummy bears provided just the right amount of sustenance while I melted down their bolder counterparts.

I tossed the red gummies into my sauce pan and melted them slowly on low heat. Now, anyone who has ever worked with sugar before will tell you that sugar gets Hot. Capital “H” hot. Don’t touch it. Don’t try to stir it, either, because the gummy will just stick to your spoon. I swirled the pan when I thought it needed it, but otherwise, I just left it alone.

The gummy liquefied within 10 minutes. I took this time to mark my bear with a permanent marker into four equal parts. That way I could ensure that my color distribution was kept pretty even. I had a bear-shaped baking dish (sprayed with cooking spray) handy to pour any extra molten gummy into. (I didn’t take a picture of this, but it was a 3” by 2 ½” non-stick metal baking mold.)

I also gave my honey bear a quick spray with cooking oil. I set it upside down to drain the extra oil and focused my attention once again on the molten gummy. When it was transparent (all melted and glassy), I carefully poured the liquid gummy into my bear, stopping at my first mark. I poured the remainder into my extra bear.

Since I was making a rainbow bear, I didn’t bother washing my pan between colors. I didn’t think that the small amount of red gummy still in the pan would affect the orange. So I tossed the orange gummy bears in and started the process all over again. If you feel more comfortable washing the pan between colors, really hot water helps to dissolve the gummy.

While the orange gummies melted, I prepared an ice bath for my bear mold. Just like using a Jello mold, the first color has to be set up enough so that the next color sits nicely on top, but at the same time, it can’t be too set up or the two colors will pull apart after it’s out of its mold. Sugar is a delicate medium.

I kept an eye on my bear, and when the gummy was solid enough, I pulled it out of the ice bath. I don’t know how to explain when it’s ready—it’s just something you’ll have to experiment with. Once the orange was transparent, I poured it on top of the red. I repeated this process with yellow and green, pouring my extra molten gummy into my spare mold each time.

When I had repeated the process for all four colors, I screwed the lid on and put it in the fridge. It was set up within a few hours, but could have been left overnight. I used an X-Acto knife to cut the honey bear into two pieces and pulled the gummy free.

The integrity of the gummy remained—it wasn’t too tough and the flavor was clean and sweet—but Papa Bear did not want us carving any part of him. I tried sawing through it with several different types of knives and kitchen gadgets, but ultimately settled on ripping pieces off. It’s very stretchy. My sister decided to start with the bear butt (get it?) and leave the disembodied head for last.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly J permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:45 pm

    This is seriously awesome Annie!

  2. July 24, 2012 7:48 pm

    Absolutely too cool!

  3. Nancy Garbish permalink
    June 3, 2014 10:41 pm

    Awesome! To cut it, you can refrigerate it until it gets cold and then slice it into thin pieces with a sharp knife.

Leave a Reply

