Skip to content

Valentine Ideas for Slackers

February 13, 2011

Between fighting off bronchitis and Bieber fever, I haven’t had much time to prepare for Valentine’s Day. So, I’ve had to figure out some last minute Valentine ideas.

1) SAY IT WITH CANDY: HOMEMADE CANDY BARS

Okay, I haven’t actually done this (yet) but it seems fool-proof. My idea: mix up some peanut butter cookie dough and squash it into a greased 9 x 13 baking dish. Press some peanuts into the top and bake according to recipe directions. Cool.

Next, add 3 cups of peanut butter chips and one can of sweetened condensed milk to a 2 qt. sauce pan. Heat on low, stirring constantly until all of the chips are melted. Stir in more (salted?) peanuts and spread immediately over the cookie bars. Cool and cut into candy bar size strips. What we’re looking at here is basically peanut butter fudge over-top peanut butter cookies. How can we go wrong? (I mean, unless your beloved has a peanut allergy, of course. Oh, boy, wouldn’t that be a fiasco?)

Lastly, melt some milk chocolate over a double boiler and dip each candy bar, making sure to let it set completely before wrapping.

As for packaging, I would suggest wrapping each with parchment paper or heavy duty aluminum foil. Then, put the right side of your brain to work by designing a paper strip to wrap overtop the parchment. Secure with a swipe of a glue stick. I would probably do something like this attached to a strip of coordinating paper:

2) VALENTINE FILL-IN-THE-BLANK

Mad Libs™ came out with a sendable Valentine. If you can’t get your hands on those, make your own. Use a love poem and replace the adjectives, nouns, verbs, etc. You may have to tweak it, but it’s easier than you think. It’ll work best if you keep it in the fill-in-the-blank style that’s so iconic. I made this one as an example:

When given the task, my 8-year-old sister came up with this:

Sonnet 130 – William Shakespeare

My mistress’ toes are nothing like the garbage bag;
swords are far more sticky than her finger:
If mints be stuffed, why then her knees  are slippery;
If hairs be socks, cold yarn grow on her head.
I have seen roses damask’d, red and white,
But no such roses see I in her phalanges;
And in some chicken is there more shine
Than in the breath that from my mistress runs.
I love to hear her speak,–yet well I know
That pillow hath a far more furry sound;
I grant I never saw a goddess go,
My mistress when she rocks, plays on the maze;
And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare
As any she belied with false compare.

3) PAPER FLOWERS

There is a wealth of information online explaining how to make any kind of paper flower you can think of. From using tissue paper to cardstock, there are tutorials available to make a one of a kind bouquet for someone you love. One idea that I think is especially cute is making a rose bouquet using the pages of an old romance novel.

Tipnut offers a nice assortment of designs along with tutorials. You can find them here: http://tipnut.com/paper-flowers/

If you’re looking specifically for roses made out of paper or cardstock, I do a combination of these two styles:

Craft, Life & Laughs: http://meholder.blogspot.com/2009/03/paper-flower-tutorial.html

Technique by Tanya video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spO_hR1eFso

I do not use a flower punch to cut my petals, I have a raised ink pad that I use to brush the edges of my paper and I don’t dribble glue on the finished rose. Honestly, though, the ink pad isn’t necessary. It just adds that something extra. So go ahead and give it a try! You’ll be surprised how quickly it comes together.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

