Skip to content

It’s a Pumpkin, Folks!

September 23, 2015

It’s the first day of fall! Fall is that wonderful change in Ohio weather when warm skies fade into crisp, chill air. It’s my favorite time of year (until winter comes) and I always hope it will last a little bit longer. But it’s just not fall until the trees change and pumpkins start popping up everywhere.

I wanted to give the season a little nudge, so I spent my day crocheting a little pumpkin out of jute twine. I’m really pleased with how it turned out! I’ve never crocheted with twine before, and while the consistency fluctuated, I think my little pumpkin has a lot of character. I found the pattern for the pumpkin on Crafty Jenn’s blog. (You can find it here.)

It’s a great pattern! The only difference is that I skipped rows 1-8 of the pattern and glued on a wooden stem instead. (Did I mention that I used a table saw to cut a stick for the stem? Power tools always get my blood flowing!) I used a size H hook with the jute twine that I had. Other twine may need a different size hook, but the pattern is not dependent on gauge. Just keep the stitches tight so that the filling doesn’t poke out. The final pumpkin measures approximately 5″ wide and 3″ tall. I may make a taller, more round pumpkin by adding about 10-15 more rows of single crochet after row 27 in Jenn’s pattern.

pumpkin1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

